Was albert einstein austrian?

Not by birth. He was born in Germany in 1879 (Kingdom of Wurttemberg, part of the German Empire), but moved to Switzerland and got citizenship there in 1901. He taught in Prague in 1911 and became an Austrian citizen to work. During WWII in 1940 he moved to the U.S. and became an American citizen.