Why is brasilia shaped like an airplane?

Built to be traversed not on foot but in the motorcar. From the air, the city was designed like an airplane - this was an era in love with air travel. The wings were where Brasilia's bureaucrats would live, the fuselage where they would work in sparkling new ministries.