Why are armpits ticklish?

We have ticklish armpits (at least most humans), because the skin is so soft and not accustomed to a lot of 'hard' friction or stress. "Additionally, a great many nerves responsible for physical feeling are located there, hence the nerves are extra responsive to a foreign touch.