What is maki?

Maki is made in rolls and sliced into round bite-size pieces. In a maki roll, the fish, vegetables or other ingredients are rolled up inside of seaweed and vinegared rice. The outside may be sprinkled with fish roe, sesame seeds or other ingredients. Maki may contain pieces of raw or cooked seafood.