Why do shade of pale procol harum?

A Whiter Shade of Pale is a song by the band Procol Harum released in 1967, and reached number 1 on the UK singles chart and number 5 on the Billboard Hot 100. It was performed live with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra and re-released in 1972