Why is celery called celery?

Celery (Apium graveolens) is believed to be the same plant as selinon, mentioned in Homer's Odyssey about 850 B.C. Our word "celery" comes from the French celeri, which is derived from the ancient Greek word.

---

The name celery comes from the French word celeri and the Italian seleri