What does an instant pot do?

An instant pot is a pressure cooker. When pressure cooking, the base element quickly heats the food and water in the cooking pot and locks in the steam so that pressure builds. Pressure sensors monitor the pressure and keep it at the optimum level for safety. Instant pots have other uses too