What do you do if you see a black bear?

If you see a black bear, slowly back away from it. Do not run! Keep your eyes on it so you can see what it is doing. If the bear starts to come towards you, yell or make noise with a whistle or air horn, wave your arms over your head, and throw objects at it. This will usually cause it to run away.