How long does it take to dethaw chicken?

Depending on which method you use, chicken can take anywhere from 2 days to 30 minutes to thaw. The refrigerator method can take up to 2 days, depending on how many lbs of frozen chicken breast you have. The cold water method takes up to 1 hour per pound.