What country is pilsner beer from?

Pilsener beer can be traced back to its namesake, the ancient city of Plzen located in the western half of the Czech Republic in what was formerly Czechoslovakia and before that part of the kingdom of Bohemia. Brewing in this region dates back hundreds, if not thousands of years.