Can you substitute mayonnaise for sour cream?

If you are in the middle of making a salad, dip or even baking a cake and discover you do not have the right amount of sour cream, you may equally substitute mayonnaise, sour cream, yogurt or pureed cottage cheese when your recipe calls for one of these ingredients.