When did paper towels become popular?

Paper towels were invented by Scott Paper Company of Pennsylvania by the Scott brothers, Arthur and Irvin and introduced to household shoppers in 1931. Although paper towels were popular in hospitals, restaurants, schools and hotels, it took longer for recognition in homes.