What's the speed of song?

The speed of sound, or Mach 1, is the distance travelled per unit of time by a sound wave as it propagates through an elastic medium. At 20 °Celsius, the speed of sound in air is about 343 meters per second, or one kilometer in 2.9 seconds or one mile in 4.7 seconds.