Is polynesia close to hawaii?

Hawaii is often considered to be part of Polynesia because it is one of the corners of the Polynesian Triangle which is an area in the Pacific Ocean with three groups of islands at its corners. These three island groups are Easter Island, Island of Hawai'i, and New Zealand.