Are teeth made of bones?

Teeth are not bones. Teeth are composed of calcium, phosphorus, and other minerals. Bones are not as strong as teeth. The hardest part of the human body, teeth mostly consist of a calcified tissue called dentine. The tooth's dentine tissue is covered in enamel, that hard, shiny white exterior.

---

Human teeth are made up of four different types of tissue: pulp, the innermost part, made up of connective tissue, nerves and blood vessels; dentin, which makes up most of the tooth and is hard as bone; enamel, the hardest tissue in the body; and cementum holds the tooth in place within the jawbone.