How do you eat a persimmon?

Start by rinsing them, removing the leaves, and slicing it like you would an apple. The peel is edible — so take a bite! If you prefer to wait until your persimmon is more ripe (which you always should when dealing with Hachiyas), simply cut into it and eat the custard-like flesh with a spoon.