How do you peel a beat?

To peel a raw beet, cut off the top and tail, or root, of the beet. Scrub the beet under running water with a vegetable brush to remove dirt, then slice off the peel with a vegetable peeler. To make the peeling easier, you can roast the beet first. Clean and trim it, then wrap it in aluminum foil.