What is the pith of an orange?

The pith of oranges and other citrus fruits is the stringy, spongy white stuff between the peel (or zest) and the fruit. Most people strip it away before eating oranges, because they think it is bitter or inedible. Orange pith tends to be chewy, but it's tasteless not bitter