Why is missouri called the show me state?

Missouri's Congressman Willard Duncan Vandiver, is credited as saying in 1899. "I come from a state that raises corn and cotton and cockleburs and Democrats, and frothy eloquence neither convinces nor satisfies me. I am from Missouri. You have got to show me."