Why is missouri called the show me state?

Missouri's Congressman Willard Duncan Vandiver, is credited as saying in 1899. "I come from a state that raises corn and cotton and cockleburs and Democrats, and frothy eloquence neither convinces nor satisfies me. I am from Missouri. You have got to show me."

---

Missouri has been called the "Mother of the West" and the "Cave State", but its most famous nickname is the "Show Me State". The biggest legend is that the phrase was said by U.S. Congressman from Missouri, Willard Duncan Vandiver.