Do butterflies like milkweed?

Milkweeds are the larval food source for monarch butterflies and their relatives, as well as a variety of other herbivorous insects (including numerous beetles, moths, and true bugs). These insects are specialized to feed on milkweed despite the chemical defenses of the plant.