Who invented the first car?

There is a lot of debate on who invented the first car, or what we would consider a car. Karl Benz from Germany has been credited for creating the first gasoline automobile in 1886. The debate on who invented the first car is challenged as there are sketches of cars in Leonardo da Vinci’s drawings.