Are the bahamas under british rule?

On July 10, 1973, The Bahamas became a free and sovereign country, ending 325 years of peaceful British rule. However, The Bahamas is a member of the British Commonwealth of Nations and they celebrate July 10th as Bahamian Independence Day.