Why do dogs like being pet?

Petting feels good to a dog. It also reinforces your bond with the dog so they are reassured of your affection.

---

Dogs have scent glands on their face and neck, petting them spreads this scent which increases the dogs scent. Having a strong scent is very important to dogs.