What is a v. c. stand for?

V C stands for the Victoria Cross. It is the highest and most prestigious award of the British honours system, awarded for valour "in the presence of the enemy". It It may be awarded to a person of any military rank in any service and to civilians under military command.

---

It depends on where and how it is used. Acronyms like this can have multiple meanings. For example this one could refer to the Victoria Cross (a military medal) or in the 1970's it was used to refer to the Viet Cong during the Vietnamese war.