What's the difference between a chimpanzee and a monkey?

Apes do not have tails, while most monkey species do. Apes tend to be larger than monkeys and usually have larger brains. Ape species include humans, gorillas, chimpanzees, orangutans, gibbons, and bonobos. In evolutionary and genetic terms, ape species are much closer to humans than monkeys are.