Why is new york city known as the big apple?

In the 20s journalist John J. FitzGerald referred to the substantial prizes to be won at the city’s many horse races as “the big apple.” Popularized when musicians of the 30s started referring to the big apple in their songs. There are many apples on a tree, but only one big apple: NYC.