Where does wasabi grow?

Wasabi (Eutrema japonicum or Wasabia japonica) is an evergreen perennial that is hardy to USDA zone 7 and a member of the Mustard family (Brassicaceae). It is native to Japan, where it grows along shaded stream banks with evenly moist soils.