What is a destiny knot?

In Pokemon Sword and Shield, Destiny Knot is used to control the individual values of Pokemon while breeding. If a Pokemon is placed into the nursery while holding a Destiny Knot, any eggs that are produced will have five of its IVs determined by its parents instead of three