How do you swim in minecraft?

Swimming is activated by pressing forward while in water. Sprint-swimming can also be activated. To do this, the player can press sprint for 1 block gap while moving, or double tap forward. The player cannot sprint-swim if their hunger bar is at 6 () or below.