What's the difference between flour and bread flour?

The difference between all purpose flour and bread flour is the level of protein. Bread flour has more protein content than all-purpose, around 11% to 13%, which helps with gluten development. It is mostly commonly used for bread which is where it gets its name.

---

The main difference between bread flour and all-purpose flour is a matter of protein. Bread flour has a higher protein content than all-purpose, usually 11-13%. It's called “bread flour” because most bread requires higher amounts of protein to produce lots of gluten.