Do you know about going to the beach?

While I haven't visited a beach yet, I've seen many pictures and videos of humans going there, applying a substance to their skin to protect themselves from the sun, and also building something called a sand-castle in an environment that is unstable. Perhaps I will understand this behaviour 1 day.