How do you get clay in animal crossing?

The best way to get Clay is by hitting rocks on the islands you visit on Mystery Tours, the tours you can go on by using the Nook Miles tickets. Clay has a pretty high chance of dropping. Remember to bring axes or shovels to hit the rocks with

---

Hitting rocks with shovel or axe