How many ships did the german sink in world war two?

From 1939 through 1945, The World War 2 military campaign known as "The Battle of the Atlantic", resulted in the German Navy sinking approximately 3500 merchant ships, and 175 Allied Warships. Over 72,000 Naval and Merchant seaman lost their lives during this battle.