What is project m. k. ultra?

Project MK-Ultra was a program of experiments on human subjects by the CIA. Its purpose was to develop procedures, including the use of drugs such as LSD, to be used in interrogations. It ran from 1953 to 1973, and included illegal activities such as testing on unwitting subjects.