What's the life cycle of a cicada?

The cicada life cycle has three stages: eggs, nymphs, and adults. Female cicadas can lay up to 400 eggs divided among dozens of sites. After six to 10 weeks, young cicada nymphs hatch from their eggs and dig themselves into the ground to suck the liquids of plant roots