How long does it take to get a sunburn?

All people can get sunburned. Skin can be sunburned in less than 10 minutes. Just like hair, skin can be thick or thin. It may get thinner with aging. The sun is stronger depending on seasons and time of day and, if you are surrounded by water, it can make you burn faster.

---

Depending on how strong the UV is and your skin type, you could get a sunburn in as little as 10 minutes, although skin may not appear red and inflamed for 2 or more hours.