What does a blue moon mean?

Once in a blue moon” is a common expression that has been used for a long time, and which means 'not very often,' or 'very rarely. ' It often refers to an extra full moon; however, it has been used to describe the way the moon actually looked, when for different reasons it had turned a blueish color