How long can hard boiled eggs stay out of the refrigerator?

As with all cooked foods left out at room temperature (aka the Danger Zone), hard-boiled eggs are no longer deemed safe after two hours. Instead, drop the eggs post-boil in a bowl of ice water, and transfer the cooled eggs to the fridge for longer shelf-life.