How long does a cake take to cool?

Our recommendation on how long to cool a cake before icing it, is to wait 2-3 hours for your cake to cool completely. Then add a crumb coat and refrigerate the cake for up to 30 minutes. Once that is done, you'll be able to ice until your heart's content.