Why don't dogs have belly buttons?

Like all placental mammals, while developing in the womb dogs are connected to the placenta by an umbilical cord. The location where the umbilical cord was attached is referred to as the navel, or belly button. It may not be visible beneath their fur but it is located below the ribs.