When did m. t. v. go on the air?

On August 1, 1981, MTV: Music Television goes on the air for the first time ever, with the words (spoken by one of MTV's creators, John Lack): “Ladies and gentlemen, rock and roll.” The Buggles' “Video Killed the Radio Star” was the first music video to air on the new cable television channel