What year did egypt takeover the suez canal?

In July 1956, Egyptian President Gamal Abdel Nasser nationalized the canal, hoping to charge tolls that would pay for construction of a massive dam on the Nile River. That month, Egypt took over control of the canal and reopened it to commercial shipping.