Where do guinea pigs come from?

Originally from South America, particularly the Andes, the modern guinea pig is a descendant of Cavia cutleri. There are many indications that the original human inhabitants of Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia and the Andes began to domesticate these wild animals around 5000 BCE.