What does sauce mean?

A sauce is an accompaniment to a meal component, usually liquid but may have solids within. It usually provides additional flavour and texture to the component. Examples are: Marinara sauce with pasta, hollandaise sauce with eggs Benedict, Caesar dressing with salad, chocolate sauce with a sundae.