What is yakima mean?

Yakima is a city in Washington. Yakima Industries was founded by Otto & Jeanne Lagervall in Yakima, Washington. An inventor and paddle sports enthusiast, who makes foot braces for canoes and kayaks. Is also a roof rack system that attaches to a vehicle with steel bands wrapped around side rails.