When did houses get electricity?

In 1882 the Edison Electric Illuminating Company of New York was formed, which brought electric light to parts of Manhattan. Progress was slow. Most Americans still lit their homes with gas light and candles for another 50 years. Only in 1925 did 1/2 of all homes in the US have electric power