How do you set up a checkerboard?

You have 2 players who have their own colors for their side of the board. The first two row closest to you is where you put all of your colored pieces from the game, along with the other person you're playing with..

---

To set up an 8x8 checkerboard, place the board so that each player has a light-coloured square, on the corner of the board, on their right side. Have each player place their pieces on the 12 dark squares, in the first 3 rows closest to them. Each of these 3 rows should have a total of 4 checkers