Who wrote the saints go marching in?

No one knows who wrote the saints go marching in. Some music historians shrug off the authorship question, saying only that Saints probably started as a spiritual sung by slaves longing for the day they’d see their loved ones in heaven, and it evolved into a post-Civil War gospel song