Why is vanilla so expensive?

Vanilla extract comes from a plant that is very finicky and difficult to grow. Additionally, most are grown in Madagascar, which has experienced a number of storms in the last five years that have destroyed crops. Both of these factors heavily affect the price you pay for pure vanilla extract.