Do you have to plant tulips every year?

The tulip as duly noted in horticultural texts is a perennial flower. This means that a tulip should be expected to return and bloom year after year. But for all intents and purposes this isn't always the case. Most tulip-lovers treat it as an annual, re-planting again each fall.